Permit Brief - DLNR-OCCL-2 Conservation District Use Permit – State Marine Waters / **Ocean Waters Construction Permit (OWCP)** Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) Office of Conservation and Coastal Lands (OCCL)

Reason for Approval/Permit: To conduct marine activities (including ocean thermal energy conversion; mariculture; and other energy or water, research, scientific, and educational activities) in, on, or under state marine waters or submerged lands

References: Chapters 183C & 190D Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS); Chapters 13-5 & 13-222 Hawaii Administrative

Rules

Fees: 1) Departmental Permits or Temporary Variances (requires Board Permit): Application \$250; Public hearing \$250; plus publication costs if applicable 2) **Board Permits:** Application 2.5% of total project cost or \$250 to \$2,500;

Public hearing \$250; plus publication costs if applicable 3) Site plan approvals \$50 Permit Prerequisite(s): Chapter 343 HRS compliance

Website: www.hawaii.gov/dlnr/occl

Checklist	Estimated Time
 Applicant submits: a) Conservation District Use Application (CDUA) for a Board Permit to DLNR; b) Draft or final environmental assessment (EA) or draft or final environmental impact statement (EIS) or exemption; c) Location map, site, floor and landscaping plans and elevations; d) Address relationship with county general and development plans; e) Other information; f) Signature of landowner; g) Applicable fees; h) twenty copies of the application and all attachments; i) Shoreline certification. 	
DLNR reviews CDUA for completeness and issues determination of completeness to applicant. If complete, CDUA accepted for processing.	30 days (60 days for state–owned land) from Submission
DLNR staff reviews CDUA.	
Submit determination (if applicable) of Special Management Area (SMA) administered by the County to DLNR.	30 days prior to Board Action on CDUA
 DLNR staff prepares report to Board of Land and Natural Resources (BLNR) with recommendation for approval (with conditions) or denial of CDUA. 	
6. DLNR provides public notice statewide and in the county in which the property is located.	Not less than 20 days prior to hearing
7. DLNR holds one or more public hearings on the CDUA.	
8. DLNR issues its approval (with conditions) or denial of CDUA.	180 days from Application Acceptance
Total Estimated Time from Application Acceptance*	180 days

^{*}Excludes time to obtain EA/EIS or SMA.

