APPENDIX HAWAII-14

Plan Approval
Hawaii County
Planning Department

Permit Packet Includes:
1. Process Overview
2. Hawaii County Application for Plan Approval
3. Hawaii County Code, Chapter 25 (See Appendix HCC — Chapter 25)

Approval or Permit Required: To allow development certain districts in order to ensure
conformance with the Hawaii County General Plan, to
assure that the intent and purpose of Hawaii County
Code Chapter 25 are carried out, and to ensure pertinent
conditions of previous approvals related to the
development have been implemented.

Contact Information: Aupuni Center, 101 Pauahi Street, Suite 3
Hilo, HI 96720
Phone: 808-961-8288

Website:

Planning Department: http://www.cohplanningdept.com/

Planning Department - Planning Dept. Forms:
http://records.co.hawaii.hi.us/Weblink8/Browse.aspx?dbid=1&startid=55628
See “Plan Approval Application From

See Also MS Word Form for Plan Approval Application Form
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Plan Approval
Hawaii County

Planning Department

Steps

1. Applicant discusses the ground for variance with the Planning
Department. A variance may only be granted if the following is found:

(a) There are special or unusual circumstances applying to the subject
real property which exist either to a degree which deprives the owner
or applicant of substantial property rights that would otherwise be
available, or to a degree which obviously interferes with the best use
or manner of development of that property; and

(b) There are no other reasonable alternatives that would resolve the
difficulty; and

(c) The variance is consistent with the general purpose of the district, the
intent and purpose of this chapter, and the general plan, and will not
be materially detrimental to the public welfare or cause substantial,
adverse impact to an area’s character or to adjoining properties.
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2. Submit the “Application for Variance Zoning”, which should be
accompanied by:

(1) A filing fee of $250;

(2) A description of the property in sufficient detail to determine the
precise location of the property involved;

(3) A plot plan of the property, drawn to scale, with all existing and
proposed structures shown thereon;

(4) A list of the names and addresses of all surrounding owners and
lessees of record of property interests in property within the
boundaries established by section 25-2-4; and

(5) Any other plans or information required by rules adopted by the
director in accordance with chapter 91, Hawai‘i Revised Statutes.
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3. The director requests additional information (as required). The director
then informs the applicant of acceptance of the variance application and
the date of the proposed decision.
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4. The applicant serves notice of the application to surrounding owners and
lessees of record, as provided by Hawaii County Code (HCC) Section 25-2-
4. The applicant shall also serve notice on owners and lessees of record of
interests in other properties which the director may find to be directly
affected by the variance sought. Except for setback variances, the applicant
shall also post a sign for public notification on the property as provided by
HCC Section 25-2-12.
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Time

10 days from
Step 3
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5. The director publishes notice of the date of the proposed decision and the | At least 10
date by which written comments must be received in at least two days prior to
newspapers of general circulation in the County. Step 6
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6. The director denies, approves, or approves the application subject to 60 days from
conditions. Any conditions imposed by the director shall bear a Step 4*
reasonable relationship to the variance granted, and shall contain a
statement of the factual findings supporting the decision.

*If the director falils to act within the prescribed period, the application shall be considered as

having been denied, and the director shall immediately inform the applicant of such denial.

Total Time Period: 60 days
Fees Amount Maximum
Application Fee $250
Public Notice Costs Varies

Total Fees: |  $250 (minimum) Varies (maximum)
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