Electric Vehicles (EVs) in the State of Hawaii

- Is funding available to purchase EVs through the Hawaii EV Ready Rebate Program? Funding for the Hawaii EV Ready Rebate Program was provided by federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds that have been fully expended. Additional funding for this program is no longer available and applications are no longer being accepted. The program is now closed.
- 2) Are there plans to renew the Hawaii EV Ready Rebate Program? At this time, there are no plans to renew the program.
- 3) Are there federal incentives or any other incentives for EVs or chargers? Yes. The federal government currently offers tax credits for EVs and EV chargers. The minimum credit amount for EVs is \$2,500, and the credit may be up to \$7,500, based on each vehicle's traction battery capacity and the gross vehicle weight rating. This tax credit applies to vehicles acquired after December 31, 2009. EV charging stations installed between January 1, 2006, and December 31, 2013, are eligible for a tax credit of 30% of the cost, not to exceed \$30,000. Charging station owners who install qualified equipment at multiple sites are allowed to use the credit towards each location. Consumers who purchased qualified residential charging equipment prior to December 31, 2013, may receive a tax credit of up to \$1,000. Unused credits that qualify as general business tax credits, as defined by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), may be carried backward one year and carried forward 20 years. For more information, see Qualified Plug-In Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Tax Credit http://www.afdc.energy.gov/fuels/laws/3270/US.

The State of Hawaii currently does not offer EV tax credits or EV rebates.

- 4) Where are EV DC Fast Chargers located? EV DC fast chargers are located at: Aloha Island Mart, Kahala: 4339 Waialae Ave, Honolulu, HI 96816 Aloha Island Mart, Waipio-Gentry: 94-826 Ukee St, Waipahu, HI 96797 Kailua Shell, Kailua: 434 Kuulei Rd., Kailua, HI 96734 Wyndham Waikiki Beachwalk Hotel, Waikiki: 227 Lewers Street, Honolulu, HI 96815 Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort, Poipu: 1571 Poipu Road, Koloa HI 96756 Kalana O Maui Building, Wailuku: 200 South High St. Wailuku HI 96793
- 5) Where can I find a list of parking lots that have installed charging stations? How many EV chargers are installed on each island and where are they located? For an updated list of charging stations and locations in Hawaii, please reference the EV charging station database on electricvehicle.hawaii.gov. If you would like to add your charger to the list,

please complete the form located on electricvehicle.hawaii.gov or, http://forms.hawaiicleanenergyinitiative.org/view.php?id=17

6) How much does it usually cost to "fill" or charge my EV at a public charging station? How long does it take?

The cost to charge an EV at a public charging station can vary. For costs of public charging station use in Hawaii please reference the EV charging station database on electricvehicle.hawaii.gov.

Charging times vary based on how depleted the battery is, how much energy it holds, the type of battery, and the type of charging station. The charging time can range from 15 minutes to 20 hours or more, depending on these factors. Using a Level 2 charging station, charging times may range from 3 to 8 hours for a full charge. Charging time for a DC Fast Charging station may likely range from a few minutes to 30 minutes for a full charge.

7) How far can a fully charged EV go?

The majority of commercially available all-battery electric EVs have an average range of 70 to 100 miles on a fully charged battery. The range depends in part on driving conditions and habits. For more information, reference the Department of Energy's Plug In Electric Vehicle Handbook for Consumers, http://www.afdc.energy.gov/pdfs/51226.pdf

8) Has the EV free parking law changed?

Act 168, passed in the 2012 Legislative Session replaced the previous EV free parking law, Act 290 of 1997. The new law, Act 168 provides time limits on free parking for EVs. Fees will be charged if:

- An EV is parked at a State or County lot or street meter for more than two and one-half hours of metered parking, or the maximum amount of time the meter allows, whichever is longer; or,
- An EV is parked in increments longer than one twenty-four-hour day, including weekly, monthly, or annual parking permits.

For further information, please refer to: http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2012/bills/GM1271.PDF

- 9) What is the actual number of charge spots installed under the ARRA grants? Under the ARRA Hawaii EV Ready Grant Program, 227 Level 2 EV Charger and six DC Fast Chargers were installed at 98 locations across Hawaii.
- 10) Are all parking lots required to install EV chargers?

If your parking lot has at least one hundred parking spaces available for use by the general public, then you will need to install at least one parking space exclusively for EVs and have the stall equipped with an EV charging system. The EV stall can be located anywhere in the parking lot or structure by July 1, 2012; provided that no parking space designated for EVs shall displace or reduce accessible stalls required by the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines. For more information please reference:

http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2012/bills/GM1190_.PDF.

11) Are parks, including beach parks, required to reserve and install an EV charging station? By definition, what constitutes "places of public accommodation"? Are parks considered places of public accommodation?

Yes, among other facilities, a park (including a beach park), a campsite, trailer facility, or other recreation facility parks, are considered places of public accommodation. Such places with 100 or more parking stalls are required to have at least one EV designated stall with a charging station. For a complete definition please refer to Hawaii Revised Statue section 489-2, or the following link: http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol11 Ch0476-0490/HRS0489/HRS_0489-0002.

12) Where can I get information regarding EV laws?

Please visit electricvehicle.hawaii.gov for information regarding Hawaii's EV policies. You can also follow the legislative process including proposed changes to laws on www.capitol.hawaii.gov.

13) Where can I find information regarding the State's prohibition on condo associations preventing home owners from installing electric vehicle home chargers?

Chapter 196-7.5 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes addresses this. Please reference the following link for a full reference of this law: http://capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol03_Ch0121-0200D/HRS0196/HRS_0196-0007_0005.htm

14) Are there any chargers on the North Shore?

Yes, there are Level 2 charging stations located at Turtle Bay and in Laie. For an updated list and location of charging stations in Hawaii, please reference the EV charging station database on electricvehicle.hawaii.gov.

15) How much does it cost to install a charging station?

The cost of installing publicly available EV charging equipment varies widely, depending on two main categories, cost of product and cost of installation. Product costs vary depending on brand and features. Installation costs are primarily driven by the desired location and placement of charging station, availability of electrical capacity, distance from the electrical panels to charging station and site specific installation issues such as trenching.

Publically available Level 2 EV charging station installation projects in Hawaii range from \$4,000 to \$25,000 or more depending on the factors mentioned above. While prices vary, a relatively simple project in Hawaii typically costs approximately \$6,000-\$8,000 per installed charger. For more information on the installation of EV chargers please reference the Hawaii EV Ready Guidebook for Commercial EV Charging Station Installations on electricvehicle.hawaii.gov.