APPENDIX HAWAII-3

Building Permit Hawaii County Public Works Department Building Division

Permit Packet Includes:

- 1. Process Overview
- 2. Hawaii County Building Permit Worksheet
- 3. Instructions for completing form
- 4. Building Permits Frequently Asked Questions
- 5. Hawaii County Code, Chapter 5 (See Appendix HCC Chapter 5)
- 6. Hawaii County Code, Chapter 9 (See Appendix HCC Chapter 9)

Approval or Permit Required: To erect a new building or structure.

Contact Information: Aupuni Center, 101 Pauahi Street, Suite 7

Hilo, HI 96720-4224 Phone: 808-961-8331

Website

Public Works – Forms & Permit Application:

http://www.hawaiicounty.gov/pw-online-requests-permit-app/#Bldg

Building Permit Worksheets: http://records.co.hawaii.hi.us/Weblink8/Browse.aspx?dbid=1&startid=59838

Form: http://records.co.hawaii.hi.us/Weblink8/1/doc/59840/Page1.aspx PDF Form (Fillable): http://records.co.hawaii.hi.us/Weblink8/1/doc/59841/Electronic.aspx

Updated Nov 2013

APPENDIX HAWAII-3

Building Permit Hawaii County Public Works Department Building Division Steps

- 1. Bring three (3) sets of Construction Plans and a complete "Building Permit Worksheet" to be submitted to the permit clerk of the Building Division.
- 2. You are responsible to obtain approvals (dated signatures) from each agency as indicated on the permit application.
- 3. After receiving approvals from all agencies, return your submittals to the permit clerk. A detailed review by the plan reviewers of the Building Division will be made. Depending upon the type of work proposed (see Special Inspections lists), you may be required to employ special inspectors for the project. Additional information may be required by the plan reviewers to ascertain code compliance. You will be notified when your submittals have been approved.
- 4. After your submittals have been approved for issuance of a building permit, a fee will be required. The permit clerk will then issue your BUILDING PERMIT PLACARD, TO BE POSTED AT THE JOBSITE PRIOR TO COMMENCING CONSTRUCTION, together with your approved plans and your copy of the approved building permit application.

(Timeline Not Available)

Updated Nov 2013 2

APPENDIX HAWAII-3

Building Permit Hawaii County Public Works Department Building Division

Fees	Amount	Maximum
BUILDING PERMIT FEES TABLE		
TOTAL VALUATION FEE		
Up to \$500	\$10	
More than \$500, to & including \$2,000	(\$10 for first \$500) * Plus \$1.50 per \$100	
More than \$2,000, to & including \$25,000	(\$32.50 for first \$2,000) * Plus \$7.50 per \$1,000	
More than \$25,000, to & including \$50,000	(\$205 for first \$25,000) * Plus \$6 per \$1,000	
More than \$50,000	(\$355 for first \$50,000) * Plus \$3 per \$1,000	
Total Fees:	\$ 10 (minimum)	Varies (maximum)

Updated Nov 2013 3