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Purpose:  This permit allows for certain “unusual and reasonable” uses that are not permitted uses within the 
State Agricultural or Rural Land Use Districts, provided certain criteria are met as identified in Hawaii 
Administrative Rules (HAR) Chapter 15-15-95.  
Regulations / Authority:  Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) Chapter 205; HAR Chapter 15-15-95; and Rules of 
the Planning Commission of Honolulu 
Potential Approval Prerequisites: If the proposed project triggers HRS Chapter 343, the Environmental 
Impact Statement Law, submit an Environmental Assessment (EA), Environmental Impact Statement (EIS), or 
a letter of exemption from HRS Chapter 343 from the proper authority.     
Fees:  Application Fee is required – Review permit link below. 
For Permit Application, Guidelines and Fees: 
http://www.honoluludpp.org/Portals/0/pdfs/planning/PDF%20Application%20Instructions/Application_Instructio
ns_SUP_10-14.pdf 
 

http://www.honoluludpp.org/ApplicationsForms/ZoningandLandUsePermits.aspx 
Contact Information: DPP Planning Division (808) 768-8049 
 
                                                               Checklist / Process  Chronology 

1. Review the application instructions and schedule a pre-application meeting 
with DPP to discuss the application and processing requirements. 

 
 

2. Present the project to the neighborhood board in the district the project is to 
be located. 

 
1 month to schedule a 

meeting 
 

3. Complete and submit an application to DPP which includes all content 
requirements listed in the SUP Permit application checklist.   

 
 

 
 
If an EA or EIS is required, the Final EA or Final EIS must be submitted as 
part of the SUP application.   

Generally, 3 months to 
6 months including 

completing technical 
studies and project 

plans 
 

Generally, 1 to 2 years 

4. DPP reviews the application for completeness.   10 working days 

5. DPP notifies the Planning Commission, interested persons, and community 
organizations for comments on the application. DPP will prepare the 
Director’s Report and Recommendation for transmittal to the Planning 
Commission.   

30 to 45 calendar days 

6. DPP will publish the date of the public hearing. 
Within 60 days after 

Step 4 

7. Any party seeking to intervene must file a petition. 
Within 14 days after 

Step 6 

http://www.honoluludpp.org/Portals/0/pdfs/planning/PDF%20Application%20Instructions/Application_Instructions_SUP_10-14.pdf
http://www.honoluludpp.org/Portals/0/pdfs/planning/PDF%20Application%20Instructions/Application_Instructions_SUP_10-14.pdf
http://www.honoluludpp.org/ApplicationsForms/ZoningandLandUsePermits.aspx
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8. Any party opposing the intervention must file written objections to the 
intervention. 

Within 21 days after 
Step 6 

9. Planning Commission holds a public hearing. If the project also requires 
other permits or approvals that require a public hearing before the Planning 
Commission, the Planning Commission may consolidate the public hearings 
into one hearing. 
 
At the public hearing, the Planning Commission shall recommend to approve, 
approve with conditions, or deny the application. 

Within 90 days after 
Step 4 

10. If the project area is 15 acres or less, DPP will issue a written Decision and 
Order. 

Within 60 days after 
Step 9 

11. If the project area is 15 acres or greater, DPP will transmit the application, 
the DPP staff report, and the Planning Commission’s recommendations to 
the State Land Use Commission (LUC).   

Within 60 days after 
Step 9 

12. The State LUC conducts meeting(s) to approve, approve with conditions, or 
deny the application. 
 
If significant new issues arise, LUC can send back the application to the 
Planning Commission. 

Within 45 days after 
receipt of complete 

record (Step 11) 

Estimated Time from Completed Application Acceptance 5 to 7 months 
 
Other Application Considerations: 

1. If the project area involves a portion of a tax map key parcel, a metes and bounds map and description 
of the SUP area should be provided. 

2. All project infrastructure should be clearly identified and described in the SUP application, including 
driveways, substations, and transmission lines. 

3. If the SUP area abuts the State Land Use Urban District Boundary, the applicant should submit a 
boundary interpretation from the State Land Use Commission that the area of the SUP does not involve 
lands within the Urban District. 

4. Solar facilities located within the State Agricultural District on soils classified as productivity rating class 
B or C that occupy more than 10% of the parcel or 20 acres, whichever is less, will need a SUP.  Such 
facilities must also meet the criteria set forth in Act 55 (Session Laws of Hawaii, 2014), pertaining to 
making the project site available for compatible agricultural uses at discounted rates, project 
decommissioning, and site restoration.  The reviewing agencies will likely press applicants to provide 
evidence of ability to meet the Act 55 criteria (e.g., a letter of intent or lease for on-site agricultural 
activities), and may request similar conditions be attached to issuance of an SUP for solar projects on B 
and C lands. 

5. Solar facilities are not permitted within the State Agricultural District on soils classified as productivity 
rating class A, unless the project meets the specific criteria under Act 55. 

6. Hydropower facilities w/ <500kW capacity a permitted use in state Agricultural zoning districts, provided 
certain waterflow conditions are met (compliance w/ State Water Code), the hydropower is accessory to 
on-site agricultural uses, and other waterway users are not adversely impacted (see Act 228, Session 
Laws of Hawaii, 2015).   


