For Immediate Release: February 28, 2019

HONOLULU — The Task Force for Comprehensive Electricity Planning announced that Hawaii has been named one of 16 states to represent the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) and the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) on the joint task force.

The two-year collaborative initiative of NARUC and NASEO, announced last November, is a forum for participating states to develop new approaches to better align distribution system and resource planning processes. The selected states will pioneer new tools and roadmaps for aligning planning to meet states’ needs while applying insights from the task force to initiate action in their own states. When the task force completes its work NARUC and NASEO will publish templates that all members can adapt and use for their states.

Twenty-one states requested to join the task force. Based on evaluations of the states’ submissions 16 were invited to join because they offer diverse and representative combinations of geographies, market models, current planning approaches and state policy goals.

“We are thankful for the opportunity to partner with NARUC and NASEO and are excited to share our experiences and learn from the task force members,” said Jay Griffin, Chair of the Hawaii Public Utilities Commission.

Hawaii State Energy Office (HSEO) Administrator Carilyn Shon added, “We are pleased that Hawaii has been be selected as one of the states to take part in this important initiative. HSEO is working to develop innovative planning tools that will enable energy stakeholders to better assess the cost effectiveness of policies and investments as Hawaii transitions to a clean energy future.”

NARUC President Nick Wagner of the Iowa Utilities Board said, “This is an historic partnership, which is necessitated by the ever-changing power system, at a time when leadership is needed. he utility regulatory community looks forward to working together with our state energy office colleagues to provide the tools and roadmap for a positive future.”

NASEO Board Chair and task force Co-Vice Chair Andrew McAllister said he looks forward to working with state regulators to examine electricity planning issues. “This process will help us stay ahead of rapidly accelerating technological advancements and extract the most value from them, rather than playing catch up and missing opportunities,” he said, adding, “We look forward to working with our colleagues and stakeholders to improve the outcomes for everyone.”

Other members of the task force leadership noted positive outcomes and benefits now that state representatives have been selected.

The 16 states selected are:
1. Arizona
2. Arkansas
3. California (co-vice chair)
4. Colorado (co-chair)
5. Hawaii
6. Indiana
7. Maine
8. Maryland
9. Michigan
10. Minnesota
11. North Carolina
12. Ohio (co-vice chair)
13. Puerto Rico
14. Rhode Island
15. Utah (co-chair)
16. Virginia

The task force initiative is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy and will hold its first working meeting this spring. More information is available on the Task Force on Comprehensive Electricity Planning website at www.naruc.org/taskforce.


The Hawaii State Energy Office (HSEO) is a division of the state’s Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism. With the state’s goal to reach 100 percent renewable energy generation by 2045, HSEO is committed to developing and deploying high impact solutions that will maximize Hawaii’s renewable energy resources and improve efficiency and transportation standards. Through effective policies and innovative programs, HSEO has positioned Hawaii as a leader in clean energy innovation, which will generate quality jobs, attract investment opportunities and accelerate economic growth.

The Public Utilities Commission (PUC) regulates more than 1,800 public utility companies that provide electricity, gas, telecommunications, private water and sewage, and motor and water carrier transportation services in Hawaii. The PUC oversees utilities to ensure they provide safe and reliable service to customers at reasonable rates.


For more information, contact:
Alan Yonan Jr.
Communications Officer
DBEDT State Energy Office
(808) 587-3860
[email protected]